Meet Mr. Neill

Why did you decide to become a teacher?

I saw how the direction of science was less on memorizing the scientific terms and more on the application of science and making sense of the world around us. I knew I wanted to be part of this movement to inspire future scientists and engineers.

Where did you go to college?

I went to California State University, Long Beach.

What personal strengths do you find especially helpful in your teachings?

I am personable and can relate to people of all background and all ages. This allows me to put myself in others shoes and helps with designing lessons that are engaging and thought-provoking.

Whats your proudest accomplishment?

Becoming part of the Thunderbird team here at Griffiths!

What five adjectives best describe you?

Determined, Adventurous, Adaptable, Considerate, Sensible!

If you weren’t a teacher what would you want to be?

If I weren’t a teacher I would want to be a veterinarian? I have loved being around animals my entire life.

What is something that students or most people don’t know about you?

Something that students or most people don’t know about me is that I am ambidextrous (can use both hands equally).

What are your hobbies?

I have many hobbies:

All things outdoors; fishing, hiking, camping. I also love engaging in sporting activities such as soccer, basketball, and swimming. I love anything  to do with “games,” from board games to video games.

What is your most embarrassing moment as a teacher?

It was embarrassing at the time but it gives me a good laugh when I think about it now. When I was a substitute teacher, I once accidentally walked in and started teaching the wrong class. No one told me it was the wrong class until the teacher came back!

What is is a piece of advice you would give your students?

A piece of advice I would give to students would be to never stop learning! Knowledge gained extends beyond the classroom in ways that may surprise throughout your lifetime!