Meet Mr. Elizondo

Meet Mr. Elizondo

Teacher 6th and 8th Grade Language Arts

Why did you decide to become a teacher?

I had a college professor that encouraged me to be curious and see things in ways that others don’t. Not only his encouragement, but also his passion for literature still inspires me today. This led me to want to have the same affect on my own students.

What personal strengths do you find especially helpful in your teaching?

What I find especially helpful is my ability to relate to my students and being able to understand their strengths and weaknesses.

What’s your proudest accomplishments?

My proudest accomplishments are graduating college, being married for 15 years, and becoming a teacher.

What was your most embarrassing moment? 

Recently I was at a costume party dressed up as the musician Prince. We were all dancing, having a good time, when a Prince song came on. The dance floor split and I was in the middle. I had to bust out my moves. I proceeded to dance down the line and I think I did too many twists, when suddenly, I lost my balance, fell and knocked over two chairs. Everyone thought it was hilarious, but I was so embarrassed. Prince never falls!

What five adjectives best describe you?

5 adjectives that best describe me are sarcastic, athletic, artistic, mindful, and humorous.

What do you find interesting about the subject you teach?

What I find interesting is the perspectives that my students have on literature which make me realize some thing I hadn’t thought of before.

If you weren’t a teacher what would you want to be?

If I wasn’t a teacher I would want to be a professional skateboarder.

What is something that students or most people don’t know about you?

Somethings most people don’t know is that I was a very poor student as a child, which is kind of ironic.

What is something you always tell your students?

“It is better to try and fail then to do nothing at all.”

What university did you go to?

I went to Cal State Dominguez. Bachelors degree in English.

How would you describe your high-school experience?

I honestly wish I could have made my high-school experience better.

What are your hobbies?

My hobbies are skateboarding, surfing, collecting records, traveling, and playing music.

Where do you see yourself in ten years?

I hope I’m still learning and growing as an educator.

When you were growing up did you ever think you would end up being a teacher?

The last thing I ever thought I would become was a teacher. I thought me becoming a teacher was an impossibility. However, it wasn’t until I fell in love with learning did it ever cross my mind.

What is a piece of advice you would give to your students?

Make the most out of every opportunity, even if it is something you do not enjoy. Also, make decisions that will positively impact your future.